365 & 1 Second

In one of the lectures during the ECI 831 course, Alec mentioned the 365 Project.  I had heard of the project and have always wanted to do something similar in my classroom.  I didn’t know much about the actual project, but have seen examples. I did some research and I think it would be a great project for my classroom.  There is a lot of potential in the classroom, displaying student work, special events, celebrating accomplishments, etc.  I plan to discuss it with my students to see if it is a project they would like to participate in, and if so, start after the Christmas break.

I took my exploring one step further; I found a project called 1 Second Everyday.  Everyday you take a short video on the Iphone or Ipad with the 1 Second Everyday app.  At your convenience, edit the video to 1 second.  The app will automatically label the video with a date and at the end of the year, it will put together all the 1 second clips into a video capturing the year.  I like the 1 Second Everyday project because voices, laughter, sounds, can be captured along with the expressions.  Using this app captures audio which goes one step further than the 365 project.  Below is a video that captures the first year of a baby’s life and was created using the 1 Second Everyday app.  My husband and I are planning to have a family; someday I would love to use this app to capture similar moments in our children’s lives.

I would appreciate hearing your experiences or viewing your creations if you have participated in the 365 Project or used the 1 Second Everyday app.

About shaelakuntz-zech

I am a high school Special Education teacher. I am in my eighth year of teaching and am working towards a Masters of Education in Curriculum & Instruction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 365 & 1 Second

  1. This is pretty cool. I knew of one-second projects like this, but didn’t realize there was an app for this. I love the idea – over a year, you could develop a wonderful artefact. Thanks for sharing.

  2. liufeivip says:

    I pretty like this idea! Although it’s a great pity that I didn’t know it before my daughter’s birth, it’s not too late to start this 1 second everyday project from now on as she is only 28 days:) Thank you so much for sharing this application!

  3. Pingback: Create My Story | Always On The Road

Leave a comment