Is social media making us rude?

A few weeks ago I was visiting my parents.  My mom, being a teacher, had been watching the Leaderpost for articles that I could use for one of my grad classes.  On October 26, 2013 an article was published titled “Is social media making us rude?”  As a teacher, this is an interesting and relevant topic.

In the last few weeks I’ve taken notice of the use of cell phones at school.  Walking down the hallway between classes, students are texting.  I’m amazed at the ability to text and walk down the hallway amidst 1600 students without bumping into someone.  Rarely do the students look up to acknowledge someone they know in the hallway.  I have greeted students walking down the hallway while texting, and if I get a response it is a simple “hey” without eye contact.  Another example, during the break between classes my students use their phones to watch videos on You Tube.  Many times I have had to ask my students to pause the video so they could answer my question or have a conversation with me.  In my opinion, social media is making us rude.

I can’t say I’m innocent though.  I too have been caught texting or checking Facebook during dinner.  On occasion, I have pulled out my phone while waiting for customer service in a retail store.  However, I am able to determine when it is inappropriate to use social media and can disconnect and put my phone away.  I’m not convinced that teenagers are able to determine the situations when social media should and shouldn’t be used.

How can we instill the importance of manners on our children while changing with the times? Who is responsible for teaching students manners regarding social media?  Does the responsibility fall on the parents or teachers?

CTV News Clip on Social Media

About shaelakuntz-zech

I am a high school Special Education teacher. I am in my eighth year of teaching and am working towards a Masters of Education in Curriculum & Instruction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Is social media making us rude?

  1. gregb says:

    Thanks Shaela. I am guilty of using my phone at inappropriate times too like when going to the bathroom (my wife gives me heck for this) or checking my phone constantly instead of getting my kids ready for school in the morning. I do think students behaviours are learned from parents, teachers and other students. The biggest influence on a student might differ from one student to another. For some, the biggest influence might be another student. For others it might be parents. I suspect influences from other students would be the biggest factor. I also wonder if it simply out of boredom or addictive behaviours that students are always on devices. Information is available at their fingertips. For some, they might use a device to escape other emotional problems they might be experiencing so they don’t have to think/deal with these issues.

  2. Thanks for this clip Shaela. I think that adults are just as guilty as teenagers. My grown relatives check their phones during conversations. When it makes a noise they run to it. In our house we keep our phones on silent and we have a no phones at the table rule. My daughters had mentioned that we were too into our phones so we made the effort to put them away. It is amazing to see the parents at kids sports not watching the activities but then who am I to judge? Perhaps they are dealing with an important issue and perhaps the use of technology is helping them be a part of their child’s lives. Lately I have been checking Twitter as part of this class and I tell my kids that I using my phone to do homework so they have been more accepting of me using it!
    Here is an article that reminds me not to judge!
    http://www.scarymommy.com/dear-mom-judging-me/

  3. Hi Shaela,

    It is interesting to see how as a society we are becoming “more connected” through social media, however we seem to be disengaged with those physically around us. Luckily, at my elementary school, we don’t allow the use of cell phones in the hallways. Devices in our school are only to be used under the supervision of teachers for learning purposes. Of course, this rule does get broken at times, but I feel that it has helped kids to maintain better f2f relationships with one another. Technology has quickly changed our world and how we interact with it. I think basic manners and general etiquette surrounding social media haven’t quite caught up yet. As a teacher, I know that technology isn’t going to go away, and it doesn’t make sense to ignore it. So I take time during the school year to discuss the appropriate use of our devices. I have always believed in the philosophy that “it takes a community to raise a child” so I think it’s everyone’s responsibility to teach kids how to be respectful, both in person, and online.

    Your post reminded me of an article I read in the August 18, 2013 Leader Post called “Uncivil Discourse Grows on Social Media.” In the article, the columnist describes how she has been harassed, called names, and even threatened through social media based on her opinion pieces. She references many other women, including those in the political sector, who have had similar experiences to her own. Sadly, many of them have closed their Twitter accounts, or have not allowed for commentary on their blogs to avoid the abuse. Once again, I think it is crucial that we discuss these situations with our students. As well, parents need to model kindness and acceptance to others. Kids need to learn that just because these comments are anonymous doesn’t mean that abusing others is acceptable.

    One thing I’ve really appreciated about this class, especially through Alec, is that it focuses on the positive use of social media. After reading and hearing about so many negative things, it does give me hope that most of the population is using social media for good purposes. I hope that our society can learn how to use it respectfully, and know when it’s time to turn off the phone.

Leave a comment